First “Almost-Perfect” Day

My little guy has been on the pump since January of this year.   So far, the experience has been great.  I will admit, I was a little overwhelmed when we went through the training.  So much information at once, sometimes with scary warnings…

“Don’t disconnect this way”

“No roller coasters”

“Watch out when going through airport security and riding on a plane”

“No cold insulin and watch those air bubbles”

etc., etc., etc.

It helped to know that hubby would be trying out the pump also, so they could go through it together.   Now, after several months, we have the hang of it and I can change a pump set in no time flat.

While the overall pump process was great, getting the settings right has been a rough road for my son.  Activity at school is so varied, one day he would be high, the next low.  The school calls me up to three times a day after he checks his sugar before morning snack, before lunch and before coming home on the bus.  Every day has been an adventure.  The worst part of it all was knowing what he was going through.  It may seem like fun to get out of class, but it stinks to miss lunch with your friends or to be just plain different.

But FINALLY, we had an (almost) perfect day.

Wake up:  116

Before morning snack:  124

Before lunch:  109

Before coming home on bus:  176

I’ll take it!  I felt like throwing a party.  Hooray!

5 thoughts on “First “Almost-Perfect” Day

  1. That’s wonderful for you! Those numbers are definitely party throwing numbers!
    Hopefully his body doesn’t throw you a curve ball too fast now that you have that figured out. The growing up part was really hard because diabetes has a way of making sure you can never get too comfortable in one place or let your guard down for as long as your body is changing.
    The no roller coasters is something I’ve not ever heard and I’ve been on a pump for ten years (since I was eight). I’ve been on lots of roller coasters with it, too. Just make sure you have a good clip on it and you should be good to go!

    • Amelia – By the way…we are thinking of getting a Golden Retriever and doing some training of our own. We would start with basic obedience training, but any info you have on scent training is much appreciated!

      • Well, to start out with you’ll want to have your son spit on cotton make-up remover pads (they are sterile) when his blood sugar is high or low and put those in empty used strip containers and freeze them. Then you train an alert behavior like pawing at a leg and then link the behavior to that smell- it should become something they do automatically when you pull out and open the strip bottle with the frozen spit. The training itself has all sorts of skills of course, but that’s the basic outline of how it’s done. You can also teach other behaviors like fetching the meter and glucose and then link them to the scent and alert to form a chain of events when a low blood sugar occurs. There also has to be some training when a live low blood sugar occurs which can be stressful because lows are difficult enough as it is, but that way the dog links the smell to something real and will actually alert to a scent that doesn’t come out of the freezer.

  2. Amelia – Thanks so much for your comment. I am hoping we can ride out these settings for a little while, but I know in my heart that you are right…growing bodies change everything! It is so nice to hear from someone like you that is doing really great and is a role model for other younger children impacted by diabetes. I really enjoyed looking at your blog as well. My son would love to have a service dog, but it seems they are so difficult to get.

    We were definitely told “no roller coasters”. Interesting, the different instructions that are given. I’m glad to hear that may not be the case, because we are looking into a trip to six flags this summer. 🙂

  3. I’m glad I can be a role model! Sometimes it feels like it’s amazing I’ve made it this far. Growing is a pain with diabetes, but once it calms down and you’ve lived through that suddenly management seems like a piece of cake! Comparatively. It’s still more then most people realize, but that becomes life, and life can still be great.
    Service dogs can be difficult to get, but it would probably be worth it to look into a few programs and see what happens with a few applications. I don’t know where your geographical location is, but in most places you can find at least one diabetic alert dog program- and I’m working on a list on my blog of all of them, but it’s not nearly complete. There are some programs that will do an in-home service dog for a family with multiple diabetics like in your case too, and owner-training an in-home diabetic alert dog is a lot less demanding then owner-training a public access dog. It would still be a lot of work, and probably not fit into your life if you are very busy, but if you already have a dog and would want to mess around with scent training a little on the side I would be happy to tell you all about how it’s done.
    It’s very interesting that you were told that. Different company maybe? I’ve always had a MiniMed. The kinds of clips I’ve always used have been http://my.medtronicdiabetes.com/ec_category?cid=a1PC0000000HsuPMAS
    and
    http://my.medtronicdiabetes.com/ec_category?cid=a1PC0000000HsuMMAS
    They’ve only failed me when I’ve managed to run myself into something hard enough to break the pump too (I cut one almost in half once on a rock because I tripped- I’m known for being a little hard on them).
    I would bet there are similar products for just about any kind. Clipped into the waistband of my shorts has always been the way to go at a place like six flags, with the extra wire looped carefully in my pocket so there isn’t a chance to snag on anything. Have not managed to ever break one at an amusement park. “Waterproof” only means depth less then six or eight feet though, if there are those sorts of features.

Leave a Reply

