One Great Thing – Diabetes Blog Week Day 2

Day two of  Diabetes Blog Week.

Our Instructions:   “Living with diabetes (or caring for someone who lives with it) sure does take a lot of work, and it’s easy to be hard on ourselves if we aren’t “perfect”.  But today it’s time to give ourselves some much deserved credit.  Tell us about just one diabetes thing you (or your loved one) does spectacularly!  Fasting blood sugar checks, oral meds sorted and ready, something always on hand to treat a low, or anything that you do for diabetes.  Nothing is too big or too small to celebrate doing well!”

Oh boy, isn’t the “hard on ourselves” part true?  Maybe it is a personality thing, but I doubt it.  I’m sure we all beat ourselves up when things don’t go perfectly.  But when I really stopped to think about it, there are some things my guys do amazingly well.

To start with, my son is awesomely brave.  At the endo office last week, we were filling out a research study questionnaire and it asked how often he felt stress as a result of having diabetes.  He shrugged his shoulders and chose “rarely” like it was no sweat off his back.  Now that’s one brave little boy.

Also, he works very hard to be self-sufficient with his own care.  It helps that he’s super-responsible and mature to begin with.  He checks his own sugar, weighs his own food (sometimes), knows how to read the carb count and serving size on a package of food, calibrates his CGM sensor and inputs carb count and correction boluses into his pump.  Cool stuff when you consider he’s only 9.  At his own request, he was even giving himself occasional insulin injections before he went on the pump.  (Yes, of course we oversee all of this activity).   This is great because first, it allows him to feel some control over these crappy circumstances.  Second, it has enabled him to do things that are normal for his age.  For example, go to “kids night out” at the rec center or stay overnight at a good friend’s house (I’m so blessed with a parent who is willing to text with me non-stop info about blood sugar numbers and carb intake).

My husband is skilled at estimating carb counts when we adventure into the unknown world of restaurants, carnival food, family get-togethers and the like.  After 16 years with diabetes, he just has this uncanny gut feeling.  Its funny, because I’m always frantically looking carb counts up on an iPhone app or the Calorie King book and if we are not in sync with our estimations, then I seriously reconsider what I was going to give my son.   His years of experience are usually right.

I most admire my husband’s positive attitude.  I guess I’m a bit of a hypochondriac complainer.  If I get a headache or I’m tired, I definitely let it be known.  If I had diabetes, I imagine myself to be quite the whiner.  With all of the ups and downs diabetes creates, it is really rare that you will every hear my husband say he doesn’t feel good.  He could have 350 blood sugar and still wrestle with the kids or tackle a project.

Oh..and my husband is also really good at using low blood sugar as an opportunity to eat something yummy.  (Sorry honey, I had to throw that in there..hehehehehe!!)

Leave a Reply

